Postman’s First Idea: Technology Is Always A Trade-off – Technology Giveth and Technology Taketh Away

“Technology giveth and technology taketh away. This means that for every advantage a new technology offers, there is always a corresponding disadvantage. The disadvantage may exceed in importance the advantage, or the advantage may well be worth the cost. Now, this may seem to be a rather obvious idea, but you would be surprised at how many people believe that new technologies are unmixed blessings.”

Postman, 1998

Reading has always been one of my greatest passions. Some of my earliest memories were of my mum buying me one of those golden books in our grocery shopping every week. By the time I was in primary school, I had a vast library that I was always using. Even now, I have about 100 books around my house, but obviously, I find it difficult to find room to put all of these books away. This is one of the main reasons I bought a kindle. Now I can buy my books electronically, without having to worry about where they’re all going to fit on my bookshelf. That’s not to say that I don’t love the smell and feel of a good paperback (I really do!), but I like to choose between both forms of books depending on my needs.

One thought on “Postman’s First Idea: Technology Is Always A Trade-off – Technology Giveth and Technology Taketh Away

  1. I get you! I LOVE books and I have done my very best to instil that love also in my little girl (5yo) and my children at work. Yes society and the world today live and breathe technology but I still have a heart for books and the feel of flicking through a book that has been read time and time again. Yes you can highlight, annotate and take notes on electronic forms but to physically flick through the pages is on a level all of it’s own. You may find this blogpost also interesting 🙂 http://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/2014/mar/31/paper-vs-digital-reading-debate-ebooks-tim-waterstone
    and this one….
    http://lifehacker.com/ebooks-or-paper-books-your-best-arguments-1626607106

Leave a Reply

