Let’s Give This Another Shot!

This semester (Semester 2, 2015) marks the third time that I’ve attempted the EDC3100 – ICT and Pedagogy course. the reasons I haven’t been able to ever complete the course are all to do with the professional experience.

First attempt- my blue card was due to expire during the course, so I sent in my forms to renew it in time for my prac (in February). It took two months for it to be renewed, so of course I had to drop the course.

Second attempt- As I live a fair distance from all campuses, I have always arranged my own placements. The school I had worked at for the previous prac told me a couple of weeks before I was due to start that they could not accommodate me. I was in a mad rush to find a new school (e-mailing about 10 different primary schools), before the university contacted me saying they found a school- the Friday  before I was to start. When I got to the school, the deputy wasn’t there and nobody was able to help me. I went home that day and dropped the course (again!), as it was the last day to drop it without failing the course.

Third (and most recent) attempt- I had finally found a school that could take me on, and I felt like I was getting a good rapport with my mentor teacher. I unfortunately had a couple of days off, and when I came back, a representative from the university came to have a meeting with myself, my mentor teacher, and the deputy teacher. Without going into details, it was (put simply) disastrous. I ended up flustered and crying and sent home as an at-risk student.

Of course, all of these problems and run-arounds have made me very stressed for my upcoming prac this semester. I feel as though I’m just not “cut out” for teaching and my self-esteem and confidence as taken a huge plummet.

This has all just been a bit of a rant to let out my feelings (without going into too much personal details in case future schools or teachers see this and think negatively of me as a result).

One thought on “Let’s Give This Another Shot!

  1. Wow! What a bumpy road so far. I’m sure if you are determined enough you will get there in the end! What’s coming to mind right now is David’s section on “the power of not yet” from week 1. Just keep thinking of that! Good luck for this semester!

Leave a Reply

