Five Things We Need to Know About Technological Change – Second Idea

The second idea that Postman talked about was difficult for me to, well I don’t want to say understand, maybe apply from my own teaching. I couldn’t really think of a teaching experience, so again I had to discuss my own personal experience, this time when I was in primary school. My household only consisted of myself and my mother. Initially, she was a stay-at-home mum until I was in grade 6, where she started work as a teacher aide. We weren’t exactly poor, but we didn’t have a lot of luxuries. In school, we were sometimes given tasks/assignments that we had to do on the computer, but I could never afford a computer at home! I would have to go to the library (paying $2 for every half hour, plus printing) and try to scramble in as much work as I could in a small amount of time. I remember getting so excited in Grade 9 (?) was I finally got an old laptop, and even more excited when I got the internet in Grade 10. Most students do have access to computers and the internet now, but it can be said that for those students in low-income households may not be able to work at home, so should they be marked down for not being able to do the work?

One thought on “Five Things We Need to Know About Technological Change – Second Idea

  1. Reblogged this on debagrant and commented:
    Following on from your comments about low-income students, I believe schools or teachers do need to consider the level of access some students may have. I work in a low socioeconomic school where some families do struggle to pay the (low really) textbook fee, and not all students have a internet connected, printing capable computer to use for their assignments. Another consideration is EAL/D students with language barriers and setting up a new home in Australia.

Leave a Reply

